Two Steps Forward, One Step Back

I decided to travel three weekends in a row the first time since starting competition BBQ. I honestly have no idea how some of the teams will do 6 out of 8 weekends in a two month span because this was exhausting. 

The first stop was Chandler, OK. This contest holds sentimental value as it was the first I ever competed in. I thought my chicken might catch fire it was so spicy but the judges disagreed. In the end I received: 6th place chicken, 4th place ribs, 8th place pork, and 5th overall. 

Next was a trip Hutchinson, KS. Only 30 minutes from my hometown of Lyons, Hutchinson was the “big town” to go shopping when I grew up. Mother Nature didn’t cooperate and sent us quite the storm. I was lucky to be on the relative high ground and stay out of the ankle deep water that some teams had to walk through. It was fun having some of my family make it out at various points during the contest. My cook earned me 4th place chicken and 9th place ribs for 10th overall. After the contest was over we spent time with my dad and his side of the family over the holiday weekend before coming home. 

The last stop was Fort Smith, AR. This contest is organized and rep’d by my favorite KCBS reps Ralph & Karen Williams. Unfortunately, my cook wasn’t up to the task. I thought my chicken and ribs were pretty consistent but my pork and brisket were honestly not that good this weekend. The judges rewarded me with no calls and the exact same score as last year, an abysmal 647. 

It was an experience but I don’t see anymore than two weekends in a row anytime in the near future. Next stop is Iola, KS

Till next time…

This entry was posted in BBQ. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Steps Forward, One Step Back

  1. chris Qualls says:

    good chance we will be in Iola…back to the scene of the crime 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

