Pecan Festival

Took a short trip down to Okmulgee, OK for a first year contest. Congrats to Travis Clark on GC and Donny Teel on RGC. The contest drew in 41 teams and only had a few hiccups. It was great to see more of my OK BBQ family!  They invited me to an awesome Friday night potluck (TNK BBQ) and hooked me up with some brown sugar since I forgot some (thanks KosmosQ!).

A few weeks ago, a KCBS judge approached me about fulfilling his cooking requirement to become a master judge. He wanted to cook with me because I use Weber products. So he joined me in Okmulgee to experience a KCBS contest from the other side. The 3 Amigos (the nickname I have given the Weber trio) held temp well but my cook just came up a short against the great cooks at Okmulgee. I didn’t manage any calls and only finished 16th out of 41. 

On the plus side, my portable ac unit kept it cooler inside than outside. I’m sure I will constantly find ways to improve or tweak my setup but it worked fairly well this weekend. Next stop of the year will be back in Chandler, OK (site of my first ever KCBS contest). 

Till next time…

This entry was posted in BBQ. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pecan Festival

  1. Jason says:

    Pictures?

    Like

Leave a Reply

