Coming to the end of BBQ for 2014

It is hard to believe that it is already October. Technically, as the American Royal has come and gone for another year, qualifying for next year’s Royal and Jack invites has already begun. I am preparing for my last contest of 2014 – On October 24th and 25th, I will join 20+ other teams in Fort Gibson, OK. I feel like I have learned quite a bit this year and met some great people along the way.

Much to my surprise, I was sent an email invite by the RMBBQA to attend the annual awards banquet. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to attend. Not one to be patient, I let my curiosity get the better of me and checked out the RMBBQA website to find that I had placed 8th overall and 2nd in Brisket out of 24 teams for the Shot Glass competition. For those that don’t know, the RMBBQA has two points races each year (The Cup for teams that compete in 6 or more contests and the Shot Glass for teams that compete in 3 to 5 contests). Unfortunately, my rib, pork shoulder, and chicken scores were right down the middle – Always room for improvement, right?

Overall
Brisket

But in the meantime, the Hogan Clan is driving to Albuquerque for the annual balloon festival this weekend!

Till next time…

This entry was posted in BBQ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

